Dr. Rahman Shah Zaib Saleem


Thank you for your visit to our group page. We are a research group focused on the application of organic chemistry in the fields of medicine and materials. We are also keen to help the partner groups advance their research by offering them

  • Our compound libraries that they may test against their targets.
  • Custom synthesis of their target molecule or modification of the molecules of their interest to add functionalities of interest.


About PI:

Dr. Rahman Shah Zaib Saleem is employing organic chemistry tools in designing the drugs of the future and in materials. He joined LUMS in 2012 as an assistant professor. He has been interested in the development of organic methodology as well as the synthesis of the compound libraries to could modulate various cellular proteins involved in the cell cycle (notably kinases, centrosome clustering, Phosphohistonase 3P, MDM2-p53, tubulin, hIAPP). On the materials front, he is also working on the novel metal-free organic dyes for solar cell and organic scaffolds for metal-organic frameworks (MOFs) as well as the modification of the drug molecules to prepare nanoparticles for subsequent evaluation. As an organic chemist, he has also done the isolation, characterization & total synthesis of the natural products.

Post-doctoral/Work experience

Jan 2020- to date     Associate Professor, Department of Chemistry & Chemical Engineering, SBASSE, LUMS

Jan 2012- Jan 2020     Assistant Professor, Department of Chemistry & Chemical Engineering, SBASSE, LUMS

Summer 2019    DAAD fellow, University of Saarland, Germany

Summer 2016    DAAD fellow, University of Saarland, Germany

Summer 2014    Herchel Smith Post-Doctoral Fellow, University of Cambridge, UK

Summer 2012    Post-Doctoral Research Visit, University of Bristol, UK


2011      PhD, Michigan State University (Advisor: Prof. Jetze J. Tepe, Fulbright Fellowship)

2004      MPhil, GC University, Lahore, Pakistan

2002      MSc, GC University, Lahore, Pakistan (First position in the university)

2000      BSc, Punjab University, Lahore (Government College, Gujranwala), Pakistan

Roll of Honors

Academic roll of honor (2002)


2016                     DAAD Research Stays for University Academics and Scientists, University of Saarland

2013-14                Herchel Smith fellowship, University of Cambridge

2012                     LUMS’ SSE Deans travel award for the summer research visit to University of Bristol

2006-11                Fulbright PhD fellowship

2011                     Dissertation completion fellowship

2011                     Graduation school travel fellowship, Michigan State University

2006                     Walter R. and Margaret W. Yates Memorial fellowship, Michigan State University

2006                     XIVth star award 2005: 125 distinguished men & women: Leaders of the new millennium

2003                     Orient Dr. Ata-ur-Rehman chemistry award and gold medal

2002                     Academic excellence award, GC University Lahore

2002                     Prof. Abdul Rashid Tariq gold medal

1998                     President talent farming award

1996                     Jamiat gold medal

Chemical Geneology

Guillaume Francois Rouelle (1703-1770) (Apothecary 1725, Paris)
+Antoine Laurent Lavoisier (1743-1794) (LLB 1764, Paris)
+Jean Baptiste Michel Bucquet (1746-1780) (MD 1770, Paris)
+Antoine Francois de Fourcroy (1755-1809) (MD 1780, Paris)
+Louis Nicolas Vauquelin (1763-1829) (MA 1790, Paris)
+Louis Jacques Thenard (1777-1857) (MA 1797, Paris)
+Jean Baptiste Andre Dumas (1800-1884) (none 1823, Geneva)
+Josiah Parsons Cooke (1827-1894) (AB 1848, Harvard)
+Charles Loring Jackson (1847-1935) (MA 1871, Harvard)
+Henry Augustus Torrey (1871-1910) (PhD 1897, Harvard)
+Roger Adams (1889-1971) (PhD 1912, Harvard)
+Samuel Marion McElvain (1897-1973) (PhD – BioChem 1923, Illinois)
+Gilbert J Stork (1921-____) (PhD 1946, Wisconsin)
+Timothy Lee MacDonald (____-____) (PhD 1975, Columbia)
+Jetze J Tepe (1968-____) (PhD 1998, Virginia) (MSU 2000-____)

+Rahman Shah Zaib Saleem (____-____) (PhD 2011, MSU) (LUMS 2012-____)